Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Archive Completed Tasks: Now in MLO for Android

One more surprise to be announced today: the feature of archiving and deleting completed tasks is now available for your Android Task Manager!

Note: This functionality has been released as an experimental feature for now. Learn more how to get it.

Why do we need this function? You perform tasks day after day and the profile grows, slowing down the application, piling up the current view and creating discomfort. How to solve this problem? It is difficult to manually find all the old tasks that have been performed. In addition, you may not want to delete them altogether, but leave them just in case or for reference. What is the optimal solution in these cases? Archive! Transfer old completed tasks to another profile, freeing the current profile and leaving them for other purposes in another profile.



This feature was previously available only in the desktop version and Android users had to archive using the sync with their PCs. From now on Archive/Purge tasks can be found in MLO settings, within the Profile section on your Android device and you can use it even if you do not have MLO on your PC. Let us explore this new feature in detail. 

Tip: Archiving is necessary to prevent possible slowdown when using the app. 

The first setting allows to run archiving at any moment for a particular branch or for the entire outline. The default for this would be “All tasks”, but you may change it anytime.




Next, we set how old completed tasks must be to be archived. The task must have been completed on or before this date to be archived or purged.

After that we may tap to set two more things (the default for these is on):
  1. Clean out only those tasks with all subtasks completed;
  2. Not to archive subtasks within open projects and recurrent tasks, which means you would need to complete the whole project or finalize the recurrent parent task to archive such completed subtasks.




Having done this, you should select the Action performed with this option. There are three options: you may just copy old tasks (without deleting them from their current position), you may move old tasks (from the current profile to a profile intended for archiving), or purge them (meaning their full deletion). To be on the safe side, you can use the "copy" option just to test what tasks will be archived when you set the "move" option later.

Are you done? Make sure you selected the profile in “Move old tasks to archive” and click “Archive tasks”. Be ready to confirm the operation and wait until the process is over. 

Tip: If you sync tasks to other devices, you should run archive only on a single device. The best place to set up automatic archive is MLO Desktop if you use it. 

We've also prepared a video with a brief overview of the new feature:

Stay with us! Feel free to ask questions and share your impressions, we appreciate your feedback. 

Note: You would need to run the Pro version to use the new archive feature. 

Best wishes,
The MyLifeOrganized team
Life is easy when organized

1 comment:

  1. If you are a movie buff then you may be interested to know about Showbox app which allows you to watch the latest movies and TV shows for free. To download and install the app, just click here Download Showbox App

    ReplyDelete